SURVIVE AND THRIVE

I’m very excited about Christmas this year; not for the presents, the tree, the stockings or the goodies, but because most of my family will be here with me. That hasn’t happened in a very long time and probably won’t happen again anytime soon.

I’m reminded of past Christmases when the children were young and the excitement was at a fever pitch, so thick it could almost be cut. I’m near that point now just thinking of everyone being together again. I still have three young grandchildren who will enjoy Christmas in all its glory and wonder and I will enjoy watching them.

It will be a warm Christmas this year but that doesn’t hurt my feelings at all and I’m happy for good travel weather for my family. My oldest son left the cold and snow behind in Denver to travel here to Texas but somehow I don’t believe he minds that.

I didn’t put up a tree this year (instead I have pots of poinsettias) but I do love Christmas trees, especially live ones. They are a symbol of life and hope.

For many years there was a spruce tree that grew all alone right next to the highway that went into Grand Junction, Colorado. There were no other trees around, in fact trees don’t grow in that area, but there against all odds was that fat spruce tree that survived the cold, heat, drought, highway construction, and big trucks whizzing by. One year someone put a lone Christmas ornament on it. That led to others doing the same as they drove past. After that the tree was decorated for years each Christmas season. It was a colorful sight to behold and could be seen for a great distance. I’m sure it was a delight for weary travelers to see but more than that, it was the essence of hope and survival. A thriving tree in such a barren spot spelled hope that no matter how bad circumstances are one can survive and even thrive.

I believe that’s a good thought for us all to keep in mind because isn’t that what Christ wants for us….to survive and thrive?  To be happy and of good cheer, to make the most of all we have, to be a light to others, to make those who pass glad to have known us. This Christmas I will certainly make the most of each day I have with my family, taking their love and warmth with me through the rest of the year and making it a point to not only survive but also to thrive.

Leave a comment