THE PERKS OF COUNTRY LIVING

At first I couldn’t believe my eyes, but after rubbing them and blinking furiously for a moment, I saw that indeed it was true, a golden eagle sat perched on my fence post. We’ve seen them flying high overhead many times but never did I imagine the good fortune of having one come so close.

He sat quietly for some time then flew to a nearby tree [ oh the wing spread of that glorious bird]. I thought his visit finished when, once again he flew back to the same fence post, sat for a while, then glided down to the ground. He stayed for at least half a day perching on various posts, occasionally flying to the ground and then back up to resume his vigil.

I felt he was dining on something but I wasn’t sure just what; my husband said he was probably hunting and eating the frogs in and around the drainage ditch that runs along the fence line…sad that some of my spring peepers have sung their last song.

My attempts to get a picture of that wonderful bird failed miserably since my camera doesn’t have a good zoom feature; so the only lasting image I have of him is in my mind….but for now I’m high on that image.

I have hopes that the hunting was good enough here that he will visit us again, however I’m not going to hold my breath because this is his first visit in the five years we’ve lived here…or at least the first that I’m aware of.

Sometimes we entertain the idea of moving closer to town, especially in the summer when our four acres become a chore to keep mowed. If we did though, we would miss such heart warming delights as seeing the geese on the nearby pond, the shrike hanging their food to dry on the fence, the frisky young lambs and colts, the coyote running across the backyard, the pot-bellied pig chasing the miniature Shetland pony around their shared enclosure, and now, the most amazing of all, the golden eagle eating frog legs from our own personal supply!

Yes, enjoying these sights as we do we’d be crazy to move, and each day brings something new to see and enjoy. City living will just have to wait for a few more years… there are too many interesting things to view here in our little slice of the world to give them up just yet, if ever.

Leave a comment